The problem is the unfortunate love I have for money

I had a great passion for the game, my team-mates and my country, but the problem is the unfortunate love I have for money.  I do like money. I’m not going to try to get away from that.

Hansie Cronje, former South African cricket captain, killed in a plane crash 1st June, 2002, admitting his part in match fixing leading to his being banned from international cricket.

The tragedy here is that he was such a talented player with everything going for him – it’s not as if he was remotely poor either. Even more tragic was the fact that he was a professed Christian as the following extract from hiw confession reads:

“I have been a Christian since childhood days when I grew up in the house of two wonderful people, Ewie and San-Marie Cronje. I was reborn after the tragic death of a four-year-old girl on the north coast road to Stanger. I tried to live a Christian life and walk the way the Lord wanted me to walk…

“I would like to apologise to all my family members who stood right behind me through this, especially (his wife) Bertha and all the other Christians who prayed for me.

source

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

