God is my ‘right hand man’ – Joseph Smith

I combat the errors of the ages; I meet the violence of mobs; I cope with illegal proceedings from executive authority; I cut the Gordian knot of powers, and I solve mathematical problems of universities, with truth — diamond truth; and God is my ‘right hand man’.

Joseph Smith, History of the Church 6:78

If they want a beardless boy to whip all the world, I will get on the top of a mountain and crow like a rooster: I shall always beat them…I have more to boast of than ever any man had. I am the only man that has ever been able to keep a whole church together since the days of Adam. A large majority of the whole have stood by me. Neither Paul, John, Peter, nor Jesus ever did it. I boast that no man ever did such a work as I. The followers of Jesus ran away from Him, but the Latter-day Saints never ran away from me yet.

Joseph Smith, History of the Church 6:408-9, Address of the Prophet – His Testimony Against the Dissenters at Nauvoo.

‘I am the only man that has ever been able to keep a whole church together since the days of Adam’  – I suppose we can’t speak of the Fundamentalist LDS then?

Leave a Reply

