My safety and happiness and eternal enjoyment of God’s immutable love seemed as durable and unchangeable as God Himself

I cannot find language to express how certain this appeared…My safety and happiness and eternal enjoyment of God’s immutable love seemed as durable and unchangeable as God Himself. Melted and overcome by the sweetness of this assurance, I fell into a great flow of tears and could not forbear weeping aloud. The presence of God was so near, and so real, that I seemed scarcely conscious of any things else. At night my soul seemed to be filled with an inexpressibly sweet and pure love to God and to the children of God, with a refreshing consolation and solace of soul which made me willing to lie on the earth, at the feet of the servants of God, to declare His gracious dealings with me and breathe forth before them my love an gratitude and praise. all night I continued in a constant, clear, and lively sense of the heavenly sweetness of Christ’s excellent love, of his nearness to me, and of my dearness to him. with an inexpressibly sweet calmness of soul in an entire rest in Him. My soul remained in a kind of heavenly Elysium. I think that what I felt each minute, during the continuance  of the whole time, was worth more than all the outward comfort and pleasure which I had enjoyed in my whole life put together.

Sarah Edwards

More here

Leave a Reply

