Wherever I go they prepare for me. I can’t find out the truth

Chairman Mao often travelled Chinato find out first hand how things really were. he complaineed however, “Wherever I go they prepare for me. I can’t find out the truth.” Bodyguard Li Yinqiao commented, “On the one hand Mao wanted to discover the truth but on the other hand he could not tolerate anyone who dared to tell the truth.”

Harrison Salisbury, The New Emperors

The human condition is like that: we want truth and authenticity but we aren’t always prepared to face the hard truths about ourselves, others and our condition.

Leave a Reply

