there was no Christ in it

“A poor sermon!” said the preacher, “It took me a long time to study it, my explanation of the text was accurate, the illustrations were appropriate, and the arguments conclusive! Will you tell me why you think it a poor sermon?”

“Because,” said Jonathan Edwards, “there was no Christ in it.”

“Well,” said the preacher, “Christ was not in the text; we are not to be preaching Christ always, we must preach what is in the text.”

“Then don’t take a text without Christ in it,” Edwards replied. “But you will find Christ in every text if you examine it. From every text in Scripture there is a road to the metropolis of the Scriptures, that is Christ. And my dear brother, your business is, when you get to a text, to say, ‘Now, what is the road to Christ?’ and then preach a sermon running along that road. “I have never yet found a text that had not a plain and direct road to Christ in it; and if ever I should find one that has no such road, I will make a road. I would go over hedge and ditch but I would get at my Master, for a sermon is neither fit for the lord nor yet for the peasant unless there is a savor of Christ in it.”

Leave a Reply

