were I assured, that by my preaching I had converted but one soul unto God…

I will remind you, says Cotton Mather, that one of the greatest personages (an Archbishop and a Lord-keeper) in the English nation (Archbishop Williams) once uttered this memorable speech: ‘I have passed through many places of honor and trust both in church and state, more than any of my order in England, for 70 years before; but were I assured, that by my preaching I had converted but one soul unto God, I should herein take more comfort, than in all the honors and offices that have ever been bestowed upon me.’ You are entering upon a work, that will keep you continually in the way of this incomparable satisfaction; and I hope…That the saving or enlightening or edifying, of one soul at any time, will be a matter of more joy unto you, than if all the wealth of Ophir should flow in upon you.

Cotton Mather, quoted by Charles Bridges, The Christian Ministry

Leave a Reply

