Twas I that shed the sacred blood

Twas I that shed the sacred blood;

I nailed him to the tree;

I crucified the Christ of God;

I joined the mockery

Of all that shouting multitude

I feel that I am one;

And in that din of voices rude

I recognize my own

Around the cross the throng I see,

Mocking the Sufferer’s groan;

Yet still my voice it seems to be

As if I mocked alone.

Horatius Bonar

Before we can begin to see the cross as something done for us, we have to see it as something done by us. ~John Stott

Leave a Reply

